The Jesus and Mary Chain Announce New Album “Glasgow Eyes”

Iconic rock band The Jesus and Mary Chain, composed of brothers Jim and William Reid, is set to release their highly anticipated album “Glasgow Eyes” on March 8th, 2024 via Fuzz Club. Coinciding with their 40th anniversary, the band is also launching an autobiography.

Recorded in Mogwai’s Castle of Doom studio in Glasgow, Glasgow Eyes is a testament to the band’s enduring influence and evolving sound. The album follows their successful 2017 release Damage and Joy and showcases their signature blend of melody, amp feedback, and controlled chaos, now enriched with influences from bands like Suicide and Kraftwerk and an inspired jazz-like spontaneity.

Jim Reid explains the band’s creative ethos, stating, “But don’t expect ‘the Mary Chain goes jazz.’ People should expect a Jesus and Mary Chain, and that’s certainly what ‘Glasgow Eyes’ is. Our creative approach is remarkably the same as it was in 1984, just hit the studio and see what happens.”

The album’s lead single, “jamcod,” is a fusion of dark electronica and distinctive guitar, presenting a fresh yet classic sound for the band. Glasgow Eyes is not just an extension of The Jesus and Mary Chain’s legacy but also a nod to their roots, from the explosive debut Psychocandy and beyond.

Watch The Jesus and Mary Chain’s “jamcod” music video below

Fans can pre-order Glasgow Eyes in various formats, including CD, vinyl, and a special 45rpm double-vinyl edition with artwork by William Reid.

Glasgow Eyes Track List

  1. Venal Joy
  2. American Born
  3. Mediterranean X Film
  4. jamcod
  5. Discotheque
  6. Pure Poor
  7. The Eagles and The Beatles
  8. Silver Strings
  9. Chemical Animal
  10. Second of June
  11. Girl 71
  12. Hey Lou Reid

For more information on The Jesus and Mary Chain, order your copy of Glasgow Eyes, or see upcoming tour dates, visit their official website.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No posts were found for provided query parameters.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x