Jesse Kivel Presents “Age of Man” And “Puzzles In The Grass” Singles Ahead Of Album Launch

Jesse Kivel has released two poignant singles, “Age of Man” and “Puzzles in the Grass,” ahead of his highly anticipated album “Life and Death at Party Rock,” which is out this Friday, November 10th, 2023, via New Feelings. Both singles draw inspiration from the soulful depths of artists like Jason Molina and Neil Young, and the album is a dedication to Molina‘s enduring influence.

“Age of Man” features rich, stacked, harmonies contributed by Kacey Johansing and former Foreign Born vocalist Matt Popieluch, adding layers of warmth and texture to Jesse Kivel‘s thoughtful lyrics. In contrast, “Puzzles In the Grass” offers a more intimate glimpse into Kivel‘s life with a raw iPhone demo recorded outdoors in Maine, capturing the serendipity of family life as it interplays with creativity.

Watch Jesse Kivel’s “Age of Man” music video below

The simplicity and authenticity of the “Puzzles in the Grass” recording ultimately complemented the vision for its music video, crafted by Irene Yadao and Sam Brosnan, more effectively than the polished final song version.

Watch Jesse Kivel’s “Puzzles in the Grass” music video below

Life and Death at Party Rock signifies a journey through Kivel‘s recent experiences of fatherhood and life’s transitions set against the backdrop of rural Maine. With a departure from layered electronic sounds, Kivel returns to the roots of music with thrumming guitars, subtle horns, keys, and harmonica. The album invites listeners to join Kivel in contemplation, as each of the nine tracks pieces together fragments of self-reflection.

The album, produced by Joey Genetti, features guest performances from notable artists including Sam Wilkes, Joseph Shabason, Dylan Day, Kacey Johansing, and Matt Popieluch.

Life and Death at Party Rock Tracklist

  1. I Sat on a Ridge
  2. Overgrown Ocean
  3. Nepenthe
  4. Age of Man
  5. A Lightforce feat. Joseph Shabason
  6. Bayshore Bowl
  7. Beech Hill Meditation
  8. Puzzles in the Grass
  9. Broke the Spell
  10. Hunting with Shawn

For more information on Jesse Kivel, to pre-order your copy of Life and Death at Party Rock, or to check out any upcoming tour dates, visit his official Linktree.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No posts were found for provided query parameters.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x