Barry Can’t Swim Announces Debut Album, “When Will We Land?”

Scottish artist Barry Can’t Swim is ready to embark on an exhilarating musical journey with the upcoming release of his debut album, When Will We Land? on October 20th, through renowned label Ninja Tune. Known for his multifaceted approach to music, Barry Can’t Swim‘s latest project promises to be his most diverse and compelling work to date, encompassing eleven tracks that span a wide range of genres.

Leading the way for this momentous album is the captivating single, “Woman.” Seamlessly blending digital production with organic musicianship, the track features an emphatic vocal performance by the talented Låpsley. With notes swirling around Låpsley‘s powerful voice, “Woman” effortlessly moves between the ethereal depths of cavernous house and the neo-psychedelic tones of shoegaze. The collaboration between Barry Can’t Swim and Låpsley resulted in a musical creation that resonates with both depth and innovation.

Reflecting on the collaboration, Barry Can’t Swim fondly recalls, “I sent it out, Låpsley came back immediately with this unreal vocal. I chopped it up, re-arranged it… it’s one of those things that fell into place.”

Listen to Barry Can’t Swim’s “Woman” below

Hailing from Edinburgh, Barry Can’t Swim initially garnered attention with a string of releases in 2020, capturing the ears of music enthusiasts worldwide. His talent and unique style led him to sign with Ninja Tune imprint Technicolour, which facilitated the release of his sensational 2022 EP, More Content. With critical acclaim and accolades in his wake, including being named one of Billboard’s 10 Dance Artists To Watch, Barry Can’t Swim‘s music has struck a chord with listeners and industry influencers alike.

When Will We Land? serves as a testament to Barry Can’t Swim‘s musical versatility and creativity, weaving together elements of afrobeat drum loops, choral harmonies, and samples from the legendary Brazilian group Trio Ternura. The album captures a rich tapestry of sounds that showcase the artist’s wide-ranging musical influences, resulting in a deeply personal and dynamic collection of songs.

As Barry Can’t Swim embarks on this exciting chapter of his musical journey, he reflects on the significance of his debut album, stating, “You only get to make your debut album once, so I want to showcase all the elements of the things I enjoy and love in music up to this point.”

When Will We Land? Tracklist

  1. When Will We Land?
  2. Deadbeat Gospel (feat. somedeadbeat)
  3. Sonder
  4. How It Feels
  5. Sunsleeper
  6. Woman
  7. I Won’t Let You Down (feat. Falle Nioke, Blackboxx)
  8. Always Get Through To You
  9. Tell Me What You Need (feat. just lil)
  10. Dance of the Crab
  11. Define Dancing

For more information on Barry Can’t Swim or any of his upcoming tour dates, visit his website hhttps://barrycantswim.com/ere.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No posts were found for provided query parameters.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x