Ric Wilson, Chromeo, And A-Trak Present “CLUSTERFUNK”

Ric Wilson, Chromeo, and A-Trak have announced their debut collaborative project, CLUSTERFUNK, which is set to be released on March 31st, 2023, on EMPIRE/Free Disco. The EP consists of nine tracks that fuse funk and Chicago soul into hip-hop and features artists such as King Louie, Felicia Douglass of Dirty Projectors, STIC.MAN of Dead Prez, and Kiéla Adira. Mariame Kaba also contributes a passage to the EP, which is said to represent the melding of different Chicagos and the collective struggle.

Wilson expressed his excitement about the EP, stating, “I’m trying to bring a little joy and uplift spirits and raise awareness with my revolutionary-minded raps.” Chromeo and A-Trak contributed to the EP by weaving in new tempos and keeping Wilson‘s signature buoyancy intact. The EP was written and recorded in California in the midst of the pandemic and is a reflection of people power and resilience during turbulent times.

The idea for CLUSTERFUNK was born after A-Trak was introduced to Wilson‘s music by Free Disco label partner, Russell Redeaux. The trio discussed socialism, communism, and career oral histories before reconvening over the next two summers to continue working on the EP.

Wilson‘s previous work includes the acclaimed They Call Me Disco EP with Terrace Martin and the breakout single “Fight Like Ida B & Marsha P.” His momentum continued in 2022 with a Rolling Stone x Bacardi cover story for Talent Knows No Borders and “COCO BADASS,” which was named a Top 10 Song of the Summer in TIME.

CLUSTERFUNK is a vibrant, two-step-ready, EP that pays homage to funk and soul lineages while offering an update that is both timely and timeless. It is a moniker born from the beauty one finds in chaos and aims to invite everyone to the party with a leaflet on the table. As Wilson puts it, “There are no leaders or celebrities. Perfect people don’t exist, but our power gives permission to take power back from those who transgress.”

Listen to the EP title track here


  1. Whiskey In My Coffee (Feat. King Louie)
  2. Clusterfunk
  3. Pay It No Mind
  4. Gimmi A Minnit
  5. Everyone Moves To LA (Feat. Felicia Douglass)
  6. When Mariame Kabe Speaks Listen
  7. Git Up Off My Neck (Feat. STIC.MAN of Dead Prez)
  8. I’m Not A Leader I’m A Mouthpiece
  9. Muted Not Voiceless (Feat. Kiéla Adira)

Ric Wilson 2023 Tour Dates

Thu. March 16 – Austin, TX @ Brooklyn Vegan & Resound Present Lost Weekend Day Party (set time TBD)
Fri. March 17 -Austin, TX @ Whole Planet Foundation – Whole Foods (525 N. Lamar Blvd) (2:05pm)

Chromeo 2023 Tour Dates

April 15 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
April 20 – San Francisco, CA @ The Regency Ballroom
April 22 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
May 26 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre w/ Hot Chip, Coco & Breezy and Cimafunk
June 16 – Sun. June 18 – Anchorage, AK @ Sundown Solstice Festival

A-Trak 2023 Tour Dates

March 25 – Miami, FL – A-Trak & Friends @ Oasis Wynwood
April 1 – Fort Lauderdale, FL @ Rhythm & Vine

Pre-order or pre-save CLUSTERFUNK by visiting the website here.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No posts were found for provided query parameters.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x