Beach Fossils Announce New Album, “Bunny”

Beach Fossils has announced their first studio album since 2017, Bunny. The album will be released on June 2nd, 2023, on Bayonet Records. Along with the announcement, the band has released the lead single and video for “Don’t Fade Away”.

Over the last fifteen years, Beach Fossils has steadily gained recognition, growing from the DIY solo project of Dustin Payseur to a self-produced, self-managed, and self-released band. Bunny marks a significant evolution in the band’s sound, combining elements from their previous works, such as the jangly melancholy of What a Pleasure EP (2011), the post-punk inspired tracks from Clash the Truth (2013), and the lush arrangements of Somersault (2017). Bunny was produced and recorded by Payseur himself, with Lars Stalfors (Cold War Kids, Foster The People) mixing.

The album reflects on a range of personal experiences, from family members’ cancer battles to the joy of fatherhood, friendship, love, loss, and adventure, all grounded in the backdrop of New York City. Payseur’s lyrics communicate through tone and mood as much as narrative, inspired by poets like Frank O’Hara, Ted Berrigan, and Anne Waldman, as well as the Tao Te Ching.

The lead single, “Don’t Fade Away,” is an instant earworm, with a video directed by Kevin Clark (Half Alive, Sir Sly), featuring Payseur crooning against a backdrop of late-night scenery, from elevator cabs to the El Capitan Theater in Los Angeles. The track is about missing old friends, self-medicating, longing, anxiety, love, being an idiot, having fun, embracing your mistakes, and keeping your spark.

Watch Beach Fossils’ “Don’t Fade Away” below

Beach Fossils has sold-out concerts at venues like Brooklyn Steel in New York, The Wiltern in Los Angeles, and Thalia Hall in Chicago, as well as playing at festivals like Coachella, Bonnaroo, Primavera, and Post Malone‘s Posty Fest. Their latest release, 2021’s The Other Side of Life: Piano Ballads, hit No. 3 on the Billboard Traditional Jazz Albums chart, and the band recently surpassed seven million monthly listeners across all platforms. Bayonet Records, the independent label co-founded by Payseur in 2014, continues to incubate a diverse roster of developing artists.

Bunny Tracklist

1. Sleeping On My Own
2. Run To The Moon
3. Don’t Fade Away
4. (Just Like The) Setting Sun
5. Anything is Anything
6. Dare Me
7. Feel So High
8. Tough Love
9. Seconds
10. Numb
11. Waterfall

For more information on Beach Fossils, visit their website here.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No posts were found for provided query parameters.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x