Jake Shears Announces Album And Shares First Single

Multi-disciplinary musician Jake Shears, known as the frontman of Scissor Sisters, has released his new single “Too Much Music”; the first taste of his upcoming solo album Last Man Dancing, out June 2nd, 2023, via Mute Records.

Last Man Dancing was recorded between the US, Portugal, and London – where he relocated from his New Orleans home during the pandemic – and features production from Boys Noize (Kelis, Skrillex) and Vaughn Oliver (Kim Petras, Betty Who). The twelve-track record also contains a string of guest features, which includes Kylie Minogue, Big Freedia, Amber Martin as well as cameo appearances from Jane Fonda and Iggy Pop.

Talking about the album via a press statement, Shears shared,“”Last Man Dancing” is my ultimate house party. Presented in two distinct halves, it chronicles a night’s journey from sing-along dance anthems into the deeper, darker corners of my living room. Electro-pop, tech-house, poppers-fueled disco, it’s MY afters and YOU just got the address. We can be as loud and late as we want… and while not everyone might make it to the end, it’s the last ones dancing who are rewarded with the most magical moments of the evening.”

In addition to the album, Shears has shared the first single, “Too Much Music.” The song is a blend of glam-rock, disco and soulful harmony, which comes with a Callum Macdiarmid (James Blunt, JP Cooper) directed music video.

Watch Jake Shears’ “Too Much Music” Video below

Jake Shears – Too Much Music (Directed by Calum Macdiarmid)

Last Man Dancing Tracklist

  1. Too Much Music
  2. Do The Television
  3. Voices (feat. Kylie Minogue)
  4. I Used To Be In Love
  5. Really Big Deal
  6. Last Man Dancing
  7. 8 Ball (feat. Le Chev)
  8. Devil Came From The Dance Floor (feat. Amber Martin)
  9. Mess Of Me
  10. Doses (feat. Big Freedia)
  11. Radio Eyes
  12. Diamonds Don’t Burn

Jake Shears’ work continues to speak to both the margins and the masses, and 2023 marks his welcome return to pop as the first on the floor and the Last Man Dancing.

You can find out more about Jake Shears, upcoming tour dates, or pre-order your copy of Last Man Dancing by visiting his website here.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No posts were found for provided query parameters.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x