Arlo Parks Announces New Album, “My Soft Machine”

A follow up to her Mercury Prize-winning album Collapsed in Sunbeams, Arlo Parks has announced her sophomore album My Soft Machine, out May 26th 2023 via Transgressive Records.

My Soft Machine will span across twelfth tracks, which includes “Pegasus” featuring Phoebe Bridgers. In celebration of the album announcement, Park has also shared the music video for the track “Weightless”.

Talking about the new album, Park says: “The world/our view of it is peppered by the biggest things we experience – our traumas, upbringing, vulnerabilities almost like visual snow. This record is life through my lens, through my body – the mid 20s anxiety, the substance abuse of friends around me, the viscera of being in love for the first time, navigating PTSD and grief and self sabotage and joy, moving through worlds with wonder and sensitivity- what it’s like to be trapped in this particular body. There is a quote from a Joanna Hogg film called The Souvenir, it’s an A24 semi-autobiographical film with Tilda Swinton – it recounts a young film student falling in love with an older, charismatic man then being drawn into his addiction – in an early scene he’s explaining why people watch films – ‘we don’t want to see life as it is played out we want to see life as it is experienced in this soft machine.’ So there we have it… My Soft Machine.”

Watch Arlo Parks’ “Weightless” below

“My Soft Machine” Tracklist

  1. Bruiseless
  2. Impurities
  3. Devotion
  4. Blades
  5. Purple Phase
  6. Weightless
  7. Pegasus (featuring Phoebe Bridgers)
  8. Dog Rose
  9. Puppy
  10. I’m Sorry
  11. Room (Red Wings)
  12. Ghost

You can pre-order or pre-save My Soft Machine by visiting Arlo Parks’ website here.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No posts were found for provided query parameters.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x