Nakhane Announces Studio Album, Bastard Jargon

South African multi-disciplinary artist and musician Nakhane (they/them) announces their third studio album ‘Bastard Jargon’, out in Spring 2023 via BMG. Alongside the announcement, they have shared the Leading Lines EP, a sampling of tracks from the upcoming album, including brand new song ‘You’ve Got Me (Living Again)’.

Across ‘Bastard Jargon’, Nakhane glitters their music with poetic lyricism and poignant urgency as they invite the listener to revel in matters of sex, morality, politics, identity and familial heritage. A plethora of influences coats each of the tracks, borrowing sounds from pop, disco, funk, and electronica, as well as the vibrant sounds of their hometown. Being an artist that remains true to their artistry, the element of transparency Nakhane brings to all of their music allows for thought-provoking commentary that makes the listener think about and consider bold questions. The end result is a pounding, physical, hot-blooded third album.

“It’s an existential sex album. Almost every song on it has some kind of wink towards sex. It’s not necessarily a seductive, come to me, bedroom eyes kind of sex – it’s much more inquisitive, psychological sex. When I wrote You Will Not Die it was at the end of my relationship with Christianity, and then when I wrote Bastard Jargon I’d moved to London and I threw myself into just wanting to feel good”, explains Nakhane.

Nakhane also shares new song ‘You’ve Got Me (Living Again)’ today as the latest taste of Bastard Jargon, a shimmering ode to the transformative power of love. Also featured on LeadingLines are acclaimed 2022 singles “Tell Me Your Politik” feat Moonchild Sanelly and Nile Rodgers, “Do You Well” featuring Perfume Genius and “My Ma Was Good” –– all of which will also appear on Bastard Jargon and have received critical praise from NY Times, Billboard, Pitchfork, The FADER, Stereogum, BrooklynVegan, and more.

Stream Nakhane’s ‘Leading Lines (EP)’ below

Nakhane’s 2019 album ‘You Will Not Die’ was deemed “unforgettable” (FADER), and was released to global acclaim. In a profile story, The New York Times said that You Will Not Die “ponders faith, pleasure, exile and belonging as they traverse hymns, neo-soul, South African pop and electronic dance music”.

Nakhane’s ‘Bastard Jargon’ tracklist

  1. The Caring
  2. Tell Me Your Politik (feat. Moonchild Sanelly & Nile Rodgers)
  3. The Conjecture
  4. Hold Me Down
  5. Hear Me Moan
  6. Do You Well (feat. Perfume Genius)
  7. My Ma Was Good
  8. You’ve Got Me (Living Again)
  9. Standing in Our Way
  10. If You Were to Complain

Connect with Nakhane by visiting their website here.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No posts were found for provided query parameters.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x